U-M Press Award Winning Books for 2017

by Charles Watkinson on January 4, 2018

Awards serve as a third party validation for the merit of scholarship and production value of the books that the University of Michigan Press creates. Awards bring recognition and prestige to our authors, our exemplary books, our Press, the U-M Library, and our parent institution. The University’s brand of excellence is reinforced everytime a U-M Press title is acknowledged. U-M Press books are routinely nominated and win prestigious awards and are held in high regard within our scholarly community.

A sample of recent awards are listed below. A full list of the more than 200 award-winning titles may be found at: https://www.press.umich.edu/browse/awards

Alienation Effects by Branislav Jakovljevic won the Oustanding Book Award given by the Association for Theatre in Higher Education

Campaign Finance and Political Polarization by Raymond J. La Raja and Brian F. Schaffner won the Virginia Gray Best Book Award given by the American Political Science Association

Clio’s Other Sons: Berossus and Manetho by John Dillery was First Runner Up for the Runciman Award

Dean Worcester’s Fantasy Islands by Mark Rice won the Gintong Aklat (Golden Book) Award in the social science category

Digital Samaritans by Jim Ridolfo won the CCCC Research Impact Award

Epiphanius of Cyprus: Imagining an Orthodox World by Young Richard Kim won the North American Patristics Society Best First Book Prize

Feather Brained by Bob Tarte listed as a Michigan Notable Book by the Library of Michigan

Foucault and Feminist Philosophy of Disability by Shelley Tremain won the Tobin Siebers Prize

How the Workers Became Muslims by Ferruh Yilmaz won the Best Book from the Global Communication and Social Change Division given by the International Communication Association

Imagining the Global by Fabienne Darling-Wolf won the International Communication Association Outstanding Book Award given by the International Communication Association

Imperfect Creatures by Lucinda Cole won the Robert Lowry Patten Award given by SEL Studies in English Literature 1500-1900

In the Name of Editorial Freedom: 125 Years at the Michigan Daily by Stephanie Steinberg was 3rd Place Winner in the Inside Higher Ed’s readers’ choice social media contest given by Inside Higher Ed

James Jesse Strang by Don Faber won the 2016 State History Award in the “Books: University & Commercial Press” category given by the Historical Society of Michigan

Lebanese Blonde by Joseph Geha won the Khayrallah Prize

Making Human by Matthew S. Weinert won the ISA Human Rights Section Best Book Award given by International Studies Association

Making Waves by Scott M. Peters listed as a Michigan Notable Book by the Library of Michigan

Making Waves by Scott M. Peters won the Stuart D. and Vernice M. Gross Award given by Saginaw Valley State University

Never Better! by Miram Udel won the National Jewish Book Award – Dorot Foundation Award on Modern Jewish Thought and Experience given by the Jewish Book Council

Playing God by Henry Bial won the John W. Frick Book Award given by the American Theatre and Drama Society

Spectacular Disapperances by Julia H. Fawcett was a finalist for the George Freedley Memorial Award given by the Theatre Library Association

The Corrigible and the Incorrigible by Greg Eghigian won the DAAD Book Prize given by the German Studies Association

The Resonance of Unseen Things by Susan Lepselter won the Gregory Bateson Prize given by the Society of Cultural Anthropology

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: