2021 University of Michigan Press Book Award Winner

by Danielle Coty-Fattal on September 17, 2021

The University of Michigan Press is excited to announce that the 2021 University of Michigan Press Book Award has been awarded to For Dear Life: Women’s Decriminalization and Human Rights in Focus, by Carol Jacobsen! The book will be honored at the University of Michigan Faculty Awards dinner on October 18, 2021. 

Cover of For Dear Life: Women's Decriminalization and Human Rights in Focus by Carol Jacobsen, with a foreword by Lucy R. LippardFor Dear Life brings together the faces, letters, and testimonies of dozens of incarcerated women with whom Jacobsen has worked and essays from leading feminist scholars to reveal the methods they have used to obtain justice. This book documents Jacobsen’s love and lifelong commitment to creating feminist justice and freedom, and the efficacy of her artistic, legal, and extralegal political actions on behalf of women.

Carol Jacobsen is Professor Emerita of Art and Design, Women’s and Gender Studies, and Human Rights at the University of Michigan. She is also the Director of the Michigan Women’s Justice and Clemency Project, where she advocates for the human rights of women prisoners and seeks freedom for women wrongly incarcerated. Her work with the project has freed 13 women from life sentences and raised awareness of the human rights violations faced by incarcerated women in Michigan. 


About the University of Michigan Press Book Award: 

In 1965, President Harlan Hatcher announced the establishment of an annual University of Michigan Press Book Award. The award is presented to a member of the teaching and research staff (including emeritus members) of the University of Michigan whose book, published by the University of Michigan Press, has added the greatest distinction to the Press List. The cash value of the award is $1,500, and is apart from any royalties that may be earned. The selection is made from books published within a span of two calendar years. This year’s award was selected from books published between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020. Judges for the award are members of the Executive Committee of the University Press, the faculty board which controls the imprint of the Press. More information about previous award winners can be found here

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: